Comptia A+ Hardware

ComPTIA A+ [Computing Technology Industry Association]

Course Contents of CompTIA A+ 

  • Personal computer system components
  • storage Devices, power supplies and adapters
  •  understanding Display devices
  • Understanding Laptops and portable Devices
  • Installing and Configuring Printers
  •  operating system features and interfaces
  • Installing and configuring operating system
  •  Troubleshooting theory and preventive maintenance
  • troubleshooting operating system, hardware, printers and Laptops
  • Understanding Networking
  •  Understanding Network security fundamentals
  •  Understanding Operational procedures
  •  Installing, maintaining and Troubleshooting Hardware
  •  Installing, configuring and troubleshooting laptops
  •  Resolving Printer Problems
  • Operating system Structures and Commands
  • Operating System Utilities and Troubleshooting Issues
  •  Installing and Troubleshooting Networks
  •  System Security

 What is A+ Certification?

The A+ certification program was developed by the computer Technology Industry association (CompTIA) to provide an industry wide means of certifying the competency of computer services technicians. The A+ certification is granted to those who have attained the level of knowledge and troubleshooting skills that are needed to provide capable support in the field of personal computers. It is similar to other certifications in the computer industry such the Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA) program and the Microsoft Certified System Engineer (MCSE) program.

A+ certification program was created to offer a wide ranging certification in the sense that it is intended to certify competence with personal computers from many different makers/ vendors. You must pass two tests to become A+ certified:

  • The A+ essential (220-701) exam, which covers basic computer concepts, hardware troubleshooting, soft skills (such as customer service) and hardware upgrading, security, and safety.
  • The A+ practical Application (220-702) exam, which covers repair and practical application of the concepts, covered the A+ Essentials exam.

Why Become A+ Certified?

These are several good reasons to get you’re A+ certification. The CompTIA Candidate’s information packet lists five major benefits:

  • It demonstrates proof of professional achievement.
  • It increases proof of professional achievement.
  • It provides greater opportunity for advancement in your field.
  • It is increasing a requirement for some types of advance training.
  • It raises customer confidence in you and your company’s services.

How to Become A+ Certified?

A+ certification is available to anyone who passes the tests. You don’t have to work for any particular company. It’s not a secret society. It is, however, an elite group. To become A+ certified, you must do two things.

  • Pass the A+ Essentials Exam
  • Pass the A+ practical Application exam

The exams can be taken at any Thompson Prometric or Pearson VUE testing center. If you pass both exams, you will get a certified in the mail form CompTIA saying that you have passed and you will also receive a lapel pin and business card.

Exam Objectives:

Exam objectives are subject to change at any time without prior notice and at CompTIA’s sole discretion. Please visit the A+ Certification page of CompTIA’s website ( certifications/listed/a.aspx) for the most current listing of exam objectives.

 The A+ Essentials (220-701) Exam objectives:

The A+ Essentials exam is designed for candidates with at least 500 hours of hands on experience. It expects you to understand how to install, build, upgrade, repair, configure, troubleshoot, optimize, diagnose and perform preventive maintenance of basic personal computer hardware and operating systems.

The following are the areas (or domains, according to CompTIA) in which you must be proficient on order to pass the A+ essentials.

Domain 1: Hardware                                                                             27%

Domain 2: Troubleshooting, Repair & Maintenance               20%

Domain 3: Operating System and software                                20%

Domain 4: Networking                                                                        15%

Domain 5: Security                                                                              8%

Domain 6: Operational Procedure                                                10%

                                                                                                    Total      100%

The A+ Essentials (220-702) Exam objectives:

The following are the areas (or domains, according to CompTIA) in which you must be proficient on order to pass the A+ Practical Application.

Domain 1: Hardware                                                      38%

Domain 2: Operating Systems                                    34%

Domain 3: Networking                                                   15%

Domain 5: Security                                                         13%

                                                                                 Total    100%

CompTIA A+ Certification Online Exam Price :

CompTIA A+
Country Currency Price
USA (Domestic) USD 183
International USD 183
Great Britain GBP 117
Japan JPY 21,047
Australia AUD 180
New Zealand NZD 227
Malaysia MYR 670
Indonesia IDR 1,658,310
Hong Kong HKD 1,418
Singapore SGD 317
Thailand THB 5,662
South Africa ZAR 1,216
Denmark DKK 1,408
Norway NOK 1,520
Sweden SEK 1,581
Switzerland CHF 270
Macau MOP 1,306
China USD 173
India USD 103
Korea USD 183
Brazil USD 183
Mexico USD 183
Vietnam USD 183
Philippines USD 183
Sri Lanka USD 183